Am I Eligible?

eligibility map 3.jpg

Am I eligible for specialist telemedicine services?

Telehealth eligible areas are geographical areas where patients can receive all specialist telemedicine services under this initiative. 
Remoteness Areas 2–5 are eligible; Remoteness Area 1 corresponds to major cities and is not eligible. Patients living in RA1 metropolitan areas may still use the service but are responsible for all fees, and there is no Medicare rebate.

  • not an admitted patient; and

  • not a patient of an emergency department; and

  • located in an eligible telehealth area at the time of the attendance; and

  • The patient and specialist are required to be located a minimum of 15 km apart at the time of the consultation; or

  • a care recipient of a residential aged care facility (located anywhere in Australia); or

  • a patient of an eligible Aboriginal Medical Service (located anywhere in Australia).

  • Information regarding specific telehealth eligible areas can be accessed from